Review: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

12276826_747332818745241_2128634632_n
source

I was never really fond of young adult fiction (YA), because I figured it was all chick lit and/or boring. That was until someone recommended that I read “Throne of Glass” by Sarah J. Maas, and as soon as I fell upon that first page, I was converted. I am a fan of fantasy novels and series, but I’d never read a YA-based one. “Throne of Glass” follows the young and formidable assassin, Celaena Sardothien, as she fights for her freedom and the title of Champion in the King’s tournament. What was so unexpected and pleasantly surprising was the fact that Celaena is already a kick-ass assassin, and her transformation throughout the story isn’t your usual “I’m a badass, but then I met a guy and I became a girly little princess”. No, Celaena goes from badass to even more badass as the story progresses.

Although I was a little late to the party, I definitely rank “Throne of Glass” as my favorite new book of 2015, because it reintroduced me to a genre I never thought could redeem itself in my eyes. I’ve only read a few other examples of YA fiction over the years, like a few John Green novels, which were entertaining but sometimes lackluster. So I loved the fact that this book really changed my perception of YA. I gave this book a hearty 5 star rating, because it’s different from any book I’ve read in the best way possible.

My favorite aspect of any book is always the characters, and if I don’t like the protagonist, then, yeah, book’s over for me. But with this book, the protagonist was a notorious, feared female assassin and instead of portraying her as some wily temptress figure, she was portrayed as a layered and multi-faceted woman who was brave but sometimes uncertain, fearless but cautious, clever but skeptical. She quickly became one of my favorite female characters ever. Not to mention the fact that the whole love triangle thing wasn’t overbearing and saccharine. I usually hate love triangles in novels, because I find them so cliche and pointless, but the love triangle was more platonic and genuine in this novel than any I’ve encountered in a 21st century publication.

Kudos and literary highfives to Sarah J. Maas for restoring my faith in young adult fiction and showing me that it doesn’t have to be boring. So, if you’re looking for a new series to get into, whether YA or not, then I would wholeheartedly recommend that you start with this one. Also, Celaena is a bookworm, so that makes her all the more lovable.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I loooooooove this series!! Just wait for the next books, they’re crazy good!

    Like

    1. I can’t wait to read the rest of the series! Celaena is a bona fide badass. XD

      Like

Leave a Reply

