January Book Wrap-Up

12357520_1541655439480653_1248969079_nI’m not really one for New Year’s resolutions, mostly because I know how lazy and forgetful I am. So this year, instead of making some bullshit resolution that I know I wouldn’t uphold for more than three days, I started my first ever Goodreads Reading Challenge, and set a goal of 100 books for 2016. I did much better than I thought I would during my first month and actually finished 7 books. Seven books! That’s probably more than I read in the entirety of last year! So I thought I would do a little wrap-up for the month and talk a little about these books.

  1. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Mass: I actually started this book in November, but took my sweet time reading it. I finished it on January 1st, so I hope that still counts. This book was one of my first attempts to explore the modern YA fiction genre, and I loved it. My previous experience with YA or something like it was limited to Harry Potter (which is sort of YA/fantasy, I guess?) and a couple of John Green books. Hardly an expert. Which is sad, since I pride myself on being well-read. Reading this book made me realize that not all modern YA fiction is wannabe sci-fi or fantasy crap that’s posing as literature.
  2. Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover: My mom is an avid Danielle Steele fan, so I guess it makes sense that my guilty pleasure is trashy romance novels. I loved Hoover’s writing style and her ability to piss me off with her characters and premises, but I still can’t get behind a love story that revolves around two equally immature, senseless jerks. Still, you can’t really hate a book that gets you all riled up and pissed off.
  3. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J. K. Rowling: I still consider this one of the greatest stories I have ever read. As an only child who struggled to fit in, it was this book that made me believe in magic and hidden potential. Hats off to the Queen.
  4. Peter Pan and Wendy by J. M. Barrie: Peter Pan was one of my favorite childhood characters and I felt like revisiting this timeless classic and feeling that rush of adventure again. Who wouldn’t love fighting pirates and splashing around with mermaids? Yeah, yeah, I know, the mermaids aren’t exactly friendly in these stories, but I don’t care, I’d win them over and we’d become besties.
  5. Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas: So I had to read the next book in the Throne of Glass series. Although this book was much slower, it was still an epic story. With every page, Celaena became more of a badass and she is probably one of the best female characters I’ve ever come across in fantasy books. She’s fearless, lethal, scarred, strong, funny, and yet goodhearted.
  6. No Ordinary Life by Suzanne Redfearn: I got a digital ARC of this book from the publishers in exchange for an honest review, and although it’s not a genre I’m inclined to explore that often (women’s fiction), it was still a very well-written and often entertaining read.
  7. Finnegans Wake by James Joyce: Of course, not a month goes by without some James Joyce quality time. I got myself a vintage edition of Finnegans Wake for Christmas and I tore through it like a rare Angus steak with a red wine sauce. Joyce’s books are like a collection of abstract paintings with words instead of brushstrokes and I will never tire of admiring his masterpieces.

So that’s it for now. I’m currently reading Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, finally, after so many people recommended it to me. I’m liking it so far. She’s very funny and the characters are so lovable. Nick is kind of weird though, so I’m not sure I like him. I plan on reading many more YA books this year, since it’s a genre I’m interested in exploring right now. So we’ll see what February has in store for this bookworm. What are your top reads of January?

Leave a Reply

