{Book Review} Big Mushy Happy Lump by Sarah Andersen

9781449479619_frontcover

Thank you to Andrews McMeel Publishing for sending my this ARC of Sarah Andersen’s new collection of “scribbles” in exchange for my honest review. This review will be slightly different from my usual reviews, in terms of structure, i.e. there is no real structure.

Some Background:

Sarah’s Scribbles is a webcomic by cartoonist, Sarah Andersen. It generally revolves around the protagonist, bug-eyed and messy-haired Sarah, as she struggles with social anxiety, laziness, body-image issues, and adulthood.

My Thoughts:

Sarah’s comics are not only adorable to look at, but they are also hilariously written. Her way of expressing her thoughts on certain events or daily interactions are both funny and endearing. She brings up issues regarding mental health, anxiety, lethargy, and makes the reader feel like they are not alone in facing similar feelings. I read this collection in one sitting, after a long and rough day, and it instantly cheered me up and had me laughing all through the night. Every little story is so relatable and makes you think about your own ways of dealing with the same things. Have you ever tripped over your words while ordering a coffee or a danish? Have you ever been trapped in an awkward conversation with someone you didn’t really like? Have you ever been caught stealing your boyfriend’s (or girlfriend’s) sweaters? With every turn of the page, I found myself thinking, “Oh, I remember when I did that,” and laughing like a lunatic. The “on the bag” bit just killed me, honestly. But it’s not all just jokes and giggles; Sarah also speaks about her social anxiety and how hard it is to break out of your own self-built shell, something I found highly relatable and refreshingly honest.

Verdict:

I give this book a hearty 4★s! I can’t wait to see more comics by Ms. Andersen and I hope that she writes a book about Comicbook Sarah’s adventures and misadventures one day, because I would order that in a split second. If you would like to check out Sarah’s comics, you can find her on Facebook, WebToons, TapasticInstagram, and her website. So, if you like giggles and cute comics and honest, hilarious accounts of what it’s like to be a not-so-adult adult, then I highly recommend this collection and urge you to check out her collection from last year, called Adulthood is a Myth, which is equally wonderful.

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. This drawings are so adorable! I didn’t know there was a book with them, I NEED THIS! 😀

    Like

    1. There are two! The other one was released last year and is called “Adulthood is a Myth” 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

